Colorado has several lift laws and vehicle equipment laws that are important to understand if you've been in an accident. Knowing these laws can help you prove that the truck driver was negligent or behaving inappropriately, so you have a better chance of winning your case.
For example, did you know that tires must always be within safe operating levels without bulges, exposed cords and a tread of at least 1/16th of an inch? If you see that a truck's wheels look bare after an accident, it's worth asking for them to be measured during the investigation. All vehicles in Colorado must also have brakes on all four wheels on a vehicle. A parking brake is also required. If a truck driver didn't use a parking brake because of it being faulty or broken, then this could help your case.
Another thing you need to look out for is the number of lights the truck has. Were you blinded by multiple lights on the truck? The front of a vehicle is only allowed to have a maximum of four lights on, so if there are more than that, it's against the law. Trucks must also not be any wider than 102 inches, no taller than 13 feet tall, and no longer than 45 feet long. If you were struck by a truck exceeding these limits, you may have a case for unsafe driving in the state.
Colorado has multiple laws that can help you after you've been hit by a truck, and knowing how commercial vehicles are expected to be maintained can help your case, since you know what to look for. If you need help following an investigation or want more information about the laws in your state, you may want to speak with someone who understands and works with the state laws.
Source: LiftLaws.Com, "Colorado Lift Laws and Vehicle Equipment Laws" accessed Feb. 11, 2015