Frequently Asked Questions

Auto Accident Claims

Most claims we deal with include:

Is my personal injury settlement or verdict taxable?

This depends:

  • Punitive damages are taxable as "other means of income."
  • Interest income comes from judgment interest.
  • Compensation for economic and noneconomic damages is not taxed by the IRS.

* The settlement or verdict agreement will be clearly stated so the IRS will impose you fairly.

What is the required minimum auto insurance in Colorado?

Legal auto insurance coverage is:

  • $25,000 per injured victim
  • $15,000 minimum in property damage
  • $50,000 per accident, no matter how many victims have been affected

Since Colorado is a "fault" state, this means you can file a claim against the defendant driver's insurance carrier.

If the accident was somewhat my fault, can I win my case?

Yes, under Colorado's fault principles, your damages will be decreased in proportion to your fault. So if you were 30 percent at fault, then that would be reduced in the claims. Keep in mind that the court determines fault.

How much time do I have to file an auto accident lawsuit?

In most cases, you have around three years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit. The deadline can be prolonged if you discovered the injury later. If you are planning to sue a government establishment, you may be required to file a claim within a few months after the accident.

Call Doehling Law at 970-628-3907 today or use our online contact form.