Colorado is the top skiing destination in North America, and for good reason. The abundance of snowfall in the Rocky Mountains provide some of the best terrain for skiers and snowboarders of all levels. The state is known for its many ski resorts which attract natives, tourists, and ski/snowboard professionals.
Unfortunately, skiing and snowboarding accidents are common and can result in serious injury or even death. Skiers are not required by law to carry insurance like drivers are, so how is this covered? In this post, we will discuss Colorado liability laws for skiers and snowboarders who have experienced an accident on the slopes, and how to recover from the costs incurred.
If you have been injured by a negligent skier or snowboarder, Contact Doehling Law for immediate assistance regarding your case.
What to Do if You Were in a Ski or Snowboard Collision
If you were involved in an accident on the slopes, contact emergency services at the ski resort immediately. The phone number can be found on your ski pass or on a nearby map.
Ask for assistance from a skier nearby. Request that the person at fault stay with you to provide their information to emergency services.
What are Colorado Laws Regarding a Ski or Snowboard Collision?
According to the Colorado Ski Safety Act, every skier (or snowboarder) must maintain control of their speed and course on the mountain while being on the proper lookout to avoid other skiers and objects. The primary responsibility falls on the uphill skier to avoid people or objects below them.
If a skier or snowboarder collides with another on the mountain out of negligence or loss of control, liability falls on that skier. Additionally, skiing accidents can occur for other reasons, such as (but not limited to): snowmobile crashes or negligent or improper care of ski facilities, including ski lifts, and/or lift operators. In these cases, liability would fall on the negligent snowmobile owner, or the resort itself.
Is a Ski or Snowboard Collision Covered by Insurance in Colorado?
Yes, in the state of Colorado, injuries or costs of death involved in a ski or snowboard collision are covered through the homeowners or renters insurance of the person at fault. Costs incurred are covered under the Personal Liability limit.
Colorado requires a minimum Personal Liability limit of $100,000, but the most common are $300,000 and $500,000. In addition, homeowners can purchase an Umbrella policy, extending the liability limits to between $1 million and $5 million, and in some cases even more. A person can find their liability coverage on a home or renters declarations page.
How Much Can You Receive from an Insurance Claim from a Ski or Snowboard Accident?
The recovery amount from a homeowners or renters insurance claim from a ski or snowboarding accident varies from claim to claim, but the recovery amount is based on different factors. The insurance company will usually pay for medical costs that were incurred from the accident.
The claim process gets tricky when other losses have occurred - such as loss of income to cover bills and living expenses from an injury. When the person’s mobility is limited due to an injury, other financial losses may occur. An experienced attorney deals with insurance claims daily and can guide the process for a full recovery amount.
Contact Doehling Law for Your Ski or Snowboard Accident
If you (or a family member) were in a ski or snowboard accident that resulted in medical attention or even death, Doehling Law is here to handle your case. Located within the Western Slope of Colorado, we know that claims resulting from ski collisions can be tricky. Our office is experienced ski and snowboard accident attorneys who will guide you through the process.
Contact us today for a free consultation for your ski or snowboard accident. If we take your case, you will not be responsible for paying any fees unless we get a recovery for you.