Texting and driving laws vary across the country, but in most states, it is illegal. In Colorado, you may or may not be permitted to use your phone while driving depending on your age demographic.
Colorado's Texting and Driving Laws
Minors. In the state of Colorado, any driver under the age of 18 is considered to be a minor. These drivers are prohibited from cell phone usage of any kind when driving. This includes texting, taking calls, or even changing the music that is connected to your Bluetooth auxiliary.
Adults. Colorado state laws prohibit adults from sending text messages or browsing the internet while driving a motor vehicle. However, unlike minors, adults can use their cell phones for regular voice calls. Headphones or Bluetooth car connections are recommended for a hands-free, safer experience.
In emergencies, there are expectations for these laws. Regardless of which age group you're in, you are permitted to use a wireless device for phone calls or sending/receiving text messages so that you can contact someone during an emergency. Examples of acceptable emergencies include:
- Reporting a traffic accident, road hazard, fire, or hazardous materials on the road
- The person has a reason to fear for his life or safety or believes that a criminal act may be committed
- Reporting a person who is neglecting their care of duty as a driver and is driving reckless, careless, or in any unsafe manner (i.e., driving while intoxicated)
Penalties and Enforcement
Colorado's current law states that a law enforcement officer must see the driver operating the mobile device to issue a citation. Depending on your age and how many offenses you have, you could face a fine of anywhere from $50 to $1,000.
If you or someone you know has been injured in a texting and driving-related auto accident, consider calling Doehling Lawfor a consultation. Our lawyers may be able to help you receive financial compensation for your suffering.
If you'd like an experienced personal injury lawyer from Doehling Law to evaluate your case, please call (970) 292-7171 or fill out a form online. We are here for you.